FINDING OUR STORIES…

e67c2b49f8ec9129e31f4ecdb39fa692

The past few days spent at the 37th annual National African American Historical Genealogy Society was one of the most enlightening experiences I’ve had in quite some time.

I was among others with a shared interest in searching for our ancestral roots in order to find our true selves.

In session after session I not only acquired new information to help me find new paths in digging up my roots, but found a community of people who also feel so deeply about the importance of knowing who we are. I felt so ‘at home’ and a special connection with so many from many different places, and different backgrounds; but at their core, these are people who really understand the value of knowing our history for as far back as we can trace it.

I am inspired now to not only continue digging for the gold nuggets of my family history, but also for as much other historical data that I can find about our full African American journey. That will be a trip for a lifetime.

Thank you Atlanta for hosting this year’s conference. I will surely be there with you next year!

https://m.facebook.com/aahgs/

About The Turtlequeen Write Place

Life has provided many challenges that have made me stick my neck out even when I didn't want to, Those experiences have made me strong and resilient, and have allowed me to keep moving towards my goals despite any adversity. These are the wonderful qualities of the turtle. Life's challenges have placed me on the thrown as The Turtlequeen.
This entry was posted in Genealogy - Finding Your Story. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

