RIDING THROUGH THE STORM…

storm

In recognition of Domestic Awareness Month (October) I share this wonderfully moving video by Yolanda Adams which captures for me the pain that so many of our sisters are experiencing right now in abusive relationships. 

It took me a very long time to break free from a relationship that took away my self-esteem, my ability to think independently, my freedom to just be. 

It took prayer, support from real friends, and the belief that I deserved to be treated with love, respect and affection, not with violence and control. The numbers of women experiencing abuse from intimate partners is staggering. Over a million women each year are added to the statistics of those who are abused by their partners. Some of those women end up in death. We just cannot stand by and continue to let that happen.

Keep praying, keep supporting your abused friends, call the police when you must, volunteer with an organization that supports this cause. And for those going through the storm… Just hold on, knowing that there is someone greater than your storm. Help could be just a phone call away: 1-800-799-7233 | 1-800-787-3224 (TTY)
Click to Chat With an Online Representative http://www.thehotline.org/ (click on this link to find ways to lend your support to this cause)

Share this with as many women today as you can. This may be the very day that your help is needed.

About The Turtlequeen Write Place

Life has provided many challenges that have made me stick my neck out even when I didn't want to, Those experiences have made me strong and resilient, and have allowed me to keep moving towards my goals despite any adversity. These are the wonderful qualities of the turtle. Life's challenges have placed me on the thrown as The Turtlequeen.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to RIDING THROUGH THE STORM…

  1. roach59 says:

    Reblogged this on studiotj and commented:
    This is a post written by a friend. This post was done on October 18, 2013. It is the last post that the writer posted on her blog before she… got lazy?… took a break?… went into hibernation?… stopped writing??? I just don’t know. The post is touching. I am reblogging this in order to move her to post something else real soon.

Leave a Reply

