Getting Lost in What I Love

Nineteen_Eighty-Four_manuscript

“Writing is the only thing that when I do it, I don’t feel I should be doing something else.”
― Gloria Steinem

Time stands still when one gets lost in what they love — For some it is eating, for some it is cooking, others forget where they are and how long they’ve been there when they read and many just in being lost in love. I love all of those things (except cooking) but what I really get lost in is in writing.

When I write it becomes a journey into places I often don’t even know exist within me. I wonder through a forest of ideas, thoughts and stories that seem often disconnected as I take each step. But as I travel a magical compass guides me to a place where all these thoughts and ideas come together into something that makes sense. It may come in the form of a lesson or a story woven on a memory — but however it comes, it seems preordained to be pulled in existence to change a life, change a thought or to simply change my mind. I have sometimes started out writing with one thing in mind and that magical compass guides me to a revelation quite different from ones that existed when I started my journey. That, to me, is the joy and awesomeness of writing.

About The Turtlequeen Write Place

Life has provided many challenges that have made me stick my neck out even when I didn't want to, Those experiences have made me strong and resilient, and have allowed me to keep moving towards my goals despite any adversity. These are the wonderful qualities of the turtle. Life's challenges have placed me on the thrown as The Turtlequeen.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Getting Lost in What I Love

  1. Bhavya says:

    It happens a lot with me too. We sit down to write something, with a particular ending in mind. Mid way, without even us realizing, our writing takes us to a different level, a different plane, the outcome of it mostly leaves us surprised as well.

  2. richa says:

    I cannot help but agree 100%. this is what I too feel and also I have a feeling that this is what propels all of us to write every single day in UBC 🙂

    Richa

  3. rainbowhues23 says:

    You know I feel that too…sometimes we don’t write, its gets written. Writing surely is therapeutic. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

